Documentation/GDPR Cookie Consent/How to Show/Hide ‘Privacy and Cookie Policy’ tab from Cookie Notice Bar

How to Show/Hide ‘Privacy and Cookie Policy’ tab from Cookie Notice Bar

Cookie consent banner is often used in websites to collect consent from the visitors regarding the use of cookies. There may have been instances whereupon accepting/rejecting, the cookie banner disappears and you want to bring it back again on your website. This is where the revisit consent comes into the picture.

Revisit consent will allow the visitors to view/edit/revoke their prior preferences. In the GDPR cookie consent plugin, this can be done via a widget and/or a shortcode. A small privacy widget is automatically displayed at the footer of your website if the widget option is enabled.

Revisit Consent

To manage the revisit consent for the cookie notice bar, follow the steps below:

  1. Install and activate the GDPR Cookie consent plugin.
  2. From the dashboard navigate to the Settings page. The settings window consists of several options to manage the look and feel of the cookie notice bar.
  3. Navigate to the Customise Cookie Bar tab, then, click on the Revisit consent as shown below:
  • By enabling the revisit consent, a small privacy widget is automatically displayed at the footer of your website.
    You can also manually insert a link to manage consent by adding the shortcode: [wt_cli_manage_consent] to your website.
  • The Widget Position can be set to either left or right.
  • Use the From left margin to position the widget. Enter a value in either pixel or percentage to specify the distance from the respective margin, to place the widget accordingly.
  • The Title field allows you to customize the text on the widget. For instance, you can key in ‘Privacy and Cookie Policy’ as a title or whatever you may like.

Demo

The manage consent widget for the cookie notice bar can be viewed from the front end in the following manner:

Show again tab

Hide revisit consent tab

To hide the ‘Privacy and Cookie Policy’ tab, simply disable the revisit consent widget option from the settings as shown below.

On disabling the use of the revisit consent widget, the ‘Privacy and Cookie Policy’ tab which is usually shown instead of cookie notice after accepting consent will be made hidden from the users. However, proceeding further with the recorded consent taken before.

  • Was this article helpful?
  • YesNo